Wednesday, July 15, 2009

Merged Awards Recognise UK IT Industry

The newly-merged BCS & Computing UK IT Industry awards have announced an extension to the deadline for entries, to 7th August. The 2009 UK IT Awards are a new venture between BCS, the professional body for those working in IT, and Computing, the magazine providing insight for IT leaders. These new awards build on the success of two previous awards schemes, the BCS IT Industry Awards and the Computing Awards for Excellence. The new awards, which culminate in a gala ceremony at London's Battersea Park Events Arena on 12th November, aim to create a platform for the entire UK IT profession to showcase and celebrate best practice, innovation and excellence. With the extended reach of the two partners, the UK IT Awards 2009 will see 25 awards categories in total and will combine the most popular prizes from the previous awards schemes. A new judging scheme will also combine the best elements of the former awards as well as offering a role for sponsors in the judging process. It remains to be seen what design the new awards trophies will take - last year the BCS Awards provided a crystal hexagon award whereas the Computing awards featured flat glass plaques for trophies. The categories to be recognised in the new awards are:

Individual Excellence Awards:

  • IT Leader of the Year
  • Young IT Professional of the Year
  • APM Group Project Manager of the Year
  • Systems Developer of the Year
  • IT Service & Support Professional of the Year
  • Business Analyst of the Year

Organisational Excellence Awards:

  • Best IT Strategy of the Year
  • Best SME IT Strategy of the Year
  • Diversity in IT Award
  • Best IT Supplier of the Year
  • Best Small IT Supplier of the Year
  • Promoting IT Professionalism Award

Project Excellence Awards:

  • Innovative Project of the Year
  • Community Project of the Year
  • Private Sector Project of the Year
  • Public Sector Project of the Year
  • Environmental Project of the Year
  • IT Project Team of the Year

Technology Excellence Awards

  • Research & Development Achievement of the Year
  • Information Security Product of the Year
  • Internet Product of the Year
  • Mobile Product of the Year
  • IT Infrastructure Product of the Year
  • Best New Product Developed in the UK

Editor's Award:

  • Outstanding Contribution to UK IT