Sunday, November 13, 2005

British Fashion Awards 2005

If ever an awards show was going to generate publicity, surely it would be an event designed to reward and recognise best performance in a high-publicity industry, and which is attended by a host of glamorous and photogenic guests. And so it was with the 2005 British Fashion Awards which were held at London's Victoria and Albert Museum last week. Hosted by Emilia Fox, the awards were announced during a dinner for the industry's style leaders. The categories and nominees for the annual British Fashion Awards are put together by the press committee of the British Fashion Council, which is chaired by Vogue editor Alexandra Shulma. The winners are then selected by a panel of judges, which this year included Natalie Massenet of NET-A-PORTER.COM and Yasmin Sewell of Browns. For the record, Christopher Bailey was named Designer of the Year, Duro Olowu won best New Designer, Carlo Brandelli won the Menswear Designer award and Charlotte Tilbury won the Fashion Creator award. The honour for Red Carpet Designer, sponsored by Nicky Clarke, went to Roland Mouret. Model of the Year was Karen Elson while Stephen Jones took the award for Accessory Designer of the Year. The Shop of the Year Award went to Dover Street Market. The V&A Award for Outstanding Achievement in Fashion was awarded to Suzy Menkes OBE.