Monday, October 17, 2005

Teaching Awards 2005

One of the UK's most high profile professional awards, The Teaching Awards, held its 2005 gala presentation last night at London's Theatre Royal. Now in its seventh year, the Teaching Awards are administered by an independent charity, the Teaching Awards Trust. The awards seek to recognise and reward best practice in education, and the 2005 Teaching Awards were supported by a host of corporate and governmental organisations including BT, The Guardian newspaper, the Department for Education and Skills, and the Royal Air Force. Among the celebrities presenting the awards were TV personality Alan Titchmarsh, singer Heather Small, actress Brenda Blethyn and Lord Melvyn Bragg. The National Ceremony was attended by 142 category winners from UK regional teaching awards. There were ten categories including such awards as the BT Award for Teacher of the Year in a Primary School and the Guardian Award for Teacher in a Secondary School. Each category winner was awarded with a specially commissioned trophy, the 'Plato'. This magnificent trophy features an adaptation of the sculpture 'The Thinking Head' by Glynis Owen Jones, and was selected as the winner from a competition organised by The Teaching Awards Trust in 1999.