Tuesday, August 30, 2005

Perrier Award 2005 Goes to Female Comic

The Perrier Comedy Award for 2005 has been awarded to writer and comedian Laura Solon, who becomes only the second woman to win the prestigious award in its 25 year history. The last woman to win the Perrier Comedy Award was Jenny Eclair in 1995. Previous winners of the award include Steve Coogan, Lee Evans and Frank Skinner. Solon, who won the award for her show Kopframers Syndrome, receives a prize of £7,500 and the Perrier Award trophy as well as the publicity and esteem associated with the award. It is reported that she is already being courted by broadcasters who want to make her the next big thing in TV comedy. Her solo show features eight different characters, and was selected by the ten strong judging panel from over 250 eligible shows. Speaking about the award, Nica Burns, the Perrier organiser of the awards throughout their 25 years, said: "It's quite extraordinary that in the 25th year we have the second female winner. It's a wonderful synergy. But I don't believe in positive discrimination and I think that Laura is extraordinary. I think she is one of the major discoveries in the past 20 years." The Perrier Comedy Award is one of a select few top level awards that are synonymous with their sponsors' name. All too often, these prestige awards are highly coveted by sponsors and the competitive bidding ensures a change of sponsors name every few years. So, kudos to Perrier for 25 years of support, sponsorship and awards for comedy at the Edinburgh Fringe Festival.