Saturday, July 30, 2005

Shortlist for RIBA Stirling Prize Announced

Six buildings have been selected for the shortlist for the RIBA Stirling Prize, the prestigious £20,000 architecture award. The prize is run in association with The Architects' Journal and is now in its tenth year. It is awarded to the architects of the building deemed to have made the greatest contribution to British architecture over the preceding year. The award is open to all RIBA Members and the building may be anywhere in the European Union. The prize is named after the architect Sir James Stirling (1926 - 1992). The successful finalists for the 2005 prize are:

  • BMW Central Building, Leipzig, Germany
  • Lewis Glucksman Gallery, University College Cork, Ireland
  • The Scottish Parliament, Edinburgh
  • McLaren Technology Centre, Woking, Surrey
  • Jubilee Library, Brighton, Sussex
  • Fawood Children's Centre, Harlesden, London