Wednesday, June 29, 2005

Hadrian Awards 2005

The winners of the 2005 Hadrian Awards, a scheme to recognise excellence in architecture in the north-east of England, have been announced. This year's awards were jointly promoted by RIBA North, Northern Architecture and the North East Civic Trust. They were supported by the regional development agency One NorthEast and the Northern Architectural Association and sponsored by brick manufacturer Ibstock Brick Ltd. After introducing an easier entry process for the 2005 Awards, the organisers received almost 50 professional applications and ten student entries. The Awards Jury consisted of Gordon Murray (President, Royal Incorporation of Architects in Scotland), Olivia Grant (Chair, Culture North East), as a lay assessor, and Graham Bell, Director, North of England Civic Trust and Chair, Awards Jury.