Wednesday, May 18, 2005

End of Season Football Awards Continue

With the end of the 2004-5 football season coming to a finale in Europe, the end-of-season awards continue. In England, the League Managers Association has announced its Manager of the Year awards, with Everton's David Moyes taking the top honour for the second time in three years. The LMA Manager of the Year award is available to a manager from any division who is regarded as having achieved the most success considering the resources available to him. In other awards from the LMA, the Barclays Premiership Manager of the Year award went to Jose Mourinho of champions Chelsea, while Mick McCarthy of Championship winners Sunderland was awarded the Coca Cola Football League Championship Manager of the Year award. Mike Newell of Luton Town and Steve Tilson of Southend United won te League 1 and League 2 Manager of the Year awards respectively. The awards, announced at the LMA annual dinner, also included the LMA Service to Football Award which went to Sir Bobby Robson.