Saturday, May 14, 2005

Chelsea Dominate English Football's Awards

As the end of English football's domestic season looms, Barclays Premiership winners Chelsea have dominated the end of seasons awards as much as they did the league competition. Manager Jose Mourinho has been awarded the Barclays Manager of the Year Trophy, goalkeeper Petr Cech won the Golden Glove award and midfielder Frank Lampard won Player of the Year award from sponsors Barclays. The end of seasons awards were selected by the Barclays Panel which includes representatives from the sport's governing bodies as well as the media and supporters. These latest awards follow the Football Writer's Footballer of the Year Award which went to Lampard ahead of his team-mate John Terry. These two players polled a combined 90% of the votes in the Football Writers Association award. Terry himself was awarded the 2005 Professional Footballers' Association Player of the Year Award ahead of Lampard and Cech. Other players in contention for the PFA honour were Thierry Henry, Steven Gerrard and Andrew Johnson. The PFA Young Player of the Year award went to Wayne Rooney of Manchester United, while Portsmouth goalkeeper Shaka Hislop was given the PFA Special Merit Award in recognition of his involvement with the 'Show Racism The Red Card' campaign.